Print Share Home

CPSM® Requirements


To be eligible for certification, you must have:

  • Three years of full-time supply management experience (nonclerical, nonsupport) and a regionally accredited bachelor’s degree, OR
  • Five years of full-time supply management experience (nonclerical, nonsupport)


Earning a CPSM certification requires you to pass the following three CPSM exams, which you may take in any order:

Exam 1 — Foundation of Supply Management

Exam 2 — Effective Supply Management Performance

Exam 3 — Leadership in Supply Management

You have one year to complete an exam after registering for it.

Applying for Certification

Once you pass all three exams, you will need to submit your certification application and pay any applicable fees to be certified. Your exam scores remain valid for four years, and you must submit your application while all exam scores are valid.


Your CPSM is valid for three years before you must apply for recertification. Because the CPSM is a dynamic credential, ISM requires you to stay current with changes in the supply management field through continuous learning. Before applying for recertification, you will need to earn 60 hours of approved continuing education. Learn More About CEHs.


For more details on CPSM certification and recertification requirements, view the CPSM FAQ Page.