Print Share Home

ISM R. Gene Richter Awards Finalists Announced

FOR RELEASE: March 2, 2010

(TEMPE, Ariz.) March 2, 2010 — Supply management departments at 10 companies are among the finalists in Institute for Supply Management™'s (ISM) fifth annual ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Innovation and Leadership in Supply Management. Finalists in the 2010 competition were selected from applications received in an online submission process held from July 1, 2009 to September 18, 2009. The sixth annual ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Excellence in Supply Management call for entries will open in July 2010. More information is available at

ISM will announce winners from among the 2010 finalists in April. Representatives from winning organizations will present their stories of leadership and innovative thinking in San Diego at ISM's 95th Annual International Supply Management Conference and Educational Exhibit, to be held April 25-28, 2010.

Named after supply management leader and innovator R. Gene Richter, the ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management were established in 2004 to recognize innovative supply organizations that through strong leadership have dramatically increased their contribution to organizational success. Five entry categories include: Organization/Structure; People; Process; Sustainability; and Technology.

The 2010 Richter Corporate Award Finalists are:

  • Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. (Process Category)
  • Boston Scientific (Process Category)
  • DP DHL Global Business Services (Organization/Structure Category)
  • State of Georgia Department of Administrative Services State Purchasing Division (People Category)
  • IBM Corporation (Process Category)
  • LG Electronics (Organization/Structure Category)
  • J. C. Penney Corporation, Inc. (Process Category)
  • Northrop Grumman (Technology Category)
  • Tyco International (Organization/Structure Category)
  • Tyco International Management Company (People Category)
  • Tyco International (Process Category)
  • Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control (Process Category)

Sponsors for the fifth annual ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management are:

Gold — A.T. Kearney Procurement & Analytic Solutions; HP
Silver — ADR International; BP; Bank of America; Connolly; eclaro international; LG Electronics, Inc.; McKinsey & Company; Tyco International
Bronze — Anklesaria Group, Inc.; IQNavigator

As the largest supply management institute in the world, the mission of Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM) is to lead supply management. By executing and extending its mission through education, research, standards of excellence, influence building and information dissemination — including the renowned monthly ISM Report On Business®ISM continues to extend the global impact of supply management. ISM is a not-for-profit membership association serving more than 40,000 supply management professionals in 75 countries. ISM offers credentialing to professionals around the world with the Certified Professional in Supply Management® (CPSM®) qualification. ISM is a member of the International Federation of Purchasing and Supply Management (IFPSM).

Media Contact:
ISM Public Relations
Jean McHale, extension 3143